Careers Fair πŸ”‘

“What would you like to be when you’re older?” , “what college would you like to attend?” , “are you interested in any of the courses we offer here at “….”?” “You need a language and science if you want to study “….”!”

All these questions and not one answer for them. That was my mindset before heading into the Careers Fair in St Columb’s College in Derry last Thursday, I hadn’t a clue what I wanted to be or who I wanted to speak to about their college or courses they offer.

It was hectic at the start, as the school that hosted the Careers Fair was massive, it took a while to get to know our way about. We each picked a talk we would like to attend and the Head Boy took us to the rooms they were on in.

I attended two of the talks that day. One was about NUI Galway and the other was about Journalism.

Until that day I never thought about studying Journalism, it never really entered my head. But for now, as I don’t know what I’d like to be, I’m working off the things I like to do and I like writing up reports about events or just in general telling stories! I like being the one that has the craic.

The talks were very interesting and I am now in two minds to consider a career in Journalism or to become a teacher. The day was really great and it was interesting to find out about the colleges, and what they offer their students.

Leave a Reply

